France

La commanderie de Paulhac, berceau des chevaliers de l’Ordre du Temple en Creuse

Posted on Updated on

La commanderie de Paulhac a été bâtie vers l’an 1200 par les chevaliers de l’Ordre du Temple, plus communément appelés Templiers. Cet édifice où séjournaient les moines-soldats était le plus important de la région limousine et il est possible de le visiter tous les jeudis de l’été.

“La commanderie de Paulhac est témoin du passage des Templiers en Creusesurtout par les messages qui sont inscrits sur les murs et taillés dans la pierre. Des messages d’abnégation pour les Templiers, pour les pèlerins ou pour le commun des mortels” explique Françoise Devernin, guide-conférencière à l’Office de tourisme Monts et vallées Ouest-Creuse. Tous les jeudis de l’été à 10h30, elle assure une visite de la commanderie de Paulhac à Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac (Creuse).

Une commanderie était la demeure de moines-soldats. En l’occurrence ici, celles Templiers. C’est là qu’ils venaient, quand ils n’étaient pas au combat, pour cultiver la terre notamment. Pour la visiter en compagnie de Françoise, il faut prendre contact avec l’Office de tourisme de Fursac pour réserver.

Des fresques murales témoins du passage des Templiers en Creuse

“Il y a un calendrier mural derrière l’autel, qui ressemble à une bande-dessinée. C’était le calendrier des champs” raconte Françoise devant un groupe de vingt passionnés. D’autres dessins sont représentés sur le mur comme la célèbre croix rouge propre à l’Ordre du Temple. Pour le reste, le Christ est mis en scène mais aussi des moment de la vie quotidienne.

Parmi les curieux du jour, il y a Simon, un retraité venu de Bonnat pour l’occasion. Alors que l’ensemble du groupe admire les fresques murales, lui n’a qu’une question à la bouche. “Elle est de quand cette échelle au sol ?”demande-t-il à Françoise, la guide avant d’enchaîner : “vous vous rendez compte de comment dresser ça ? Ça doit peser un âne mort !”. Et malgré le fait qu’il reste seulement une église et une chapelle sur le domaine, Simon est quand même content d’être venu. Il ironise : “c’est plus intéressant de venir ici que d’aller voir la Joconde en plein milieu de la foule”.  

Cette commanderie était l’une des plus importantes de la région limousine qui en comptait une quinzaine. Celle de Paulhac a été bâtie vers l’an 1200 et a été le théâtre de l’implication des Templiers dans notre département. Avant de disparaître au début du XIVe siècle après avoir été chassés par le roi de France, Philippe le Bel, et le Pape, Clément V.

Et si vous ne souhaitez pas vous en arrêter là avec l’histoire des Templiers en Creuse, vous pouvez également visiter la commanderie de Lavaufranche dans le Nord du département.

  • Pour les moins de 12 ans, la visite coûte 3 euros. Il faut ajouter un euro symbolique supplémentaire pour les autres.

Par Bastien Thomas, France Bleu Creuse

La fin des travaux de restauration du château de Quéribus

Posted on

Le chantier aura duré sept mois. Le château cathare de Quéribus, à la frontière entre l’Aude et les Pyrénées-Orientales, a subi une cure de jouvence. Un chantier indispensable pour ce site qui date du Xe siècle.

Les visiteurs ont pu redécouvrir ce mardi le château de Quéribus après sept mois de travaux. Un chantier périlleux en raison de la localisation du château cathare : en haut d’une falaise, à 728 mètres d’altitude.

Des maçons alpinistes !

Il a fallu utiliser des hélicoptères pour acheminer le matériel nécessaire (eau, chaux, sable, etc..) au pied de l’édifice. Parmi les travaux réalisés : le rejointoiement des murs. Pour Bruno Schenck, premier adjoint au maire de Cucugnan “c’était impératif. On pouvait passer la moitié du bras entre les pierres ! Cela n’avait jamais été fait depuis des siècles.” Il a aussi fallu s’occuper de plusieurs voûtes. Celle entre le corps de logis et le parvis du donjon a été refaite à l’ancienne, avec des moellons, et l’autre a été réalisée avec des pierres de taille travaillées sur place.

Le chantier a été compliqué techniquement. Un seul mot d’ordre: respecter l’architecture médiévale de l’époque. Ce sont des maçons spécialisés qui s’en sont chargés, des maçons alpinistes accrochés à la façade pour certains travaux, comme sur le donjon.

Bruno Schenck, l’adjoint au maire de Cucugnan est fier du résultat: “c’est un vrai bonheur d’avoir réalisé ce chantier, c’est essentiel pour le maintien du patrimoine. Le dossier en vue d’un classement au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO continue, mais c’est très long !”

Par Isabelle Rolland, Sébastien Berriot, France Bleu Roussillon, France Bleu Occitanie

The Story of the Crown of Thorns

Posted on

When the magnificent Cathedral of Our Lady (Notre Dame) in Paris caught fire earlier this week, the world was mesmerized by the apparent destruction of such an historical and holy edifice—one of the most widely recognized and frequently visited structures in the world.

Although the soaring Gothic cathedral is well known, until recent events relatively few people knew that it has been home to the holy relic of the Crown of Thorns worn by Christ during his Passion. The destructive fire sharpened the world’s focus on the cathedral, Paris, and the Catholic Church at the beginning of the holiest week of the year and, in God’s own providential way, made more widely known the existence of this singular relic.

It has also aroused skepticism and questions. How did one of the central relics of the Passion end up in the capital of France? How do we know this relic is authentic? Isn’t it more likely some pious myth?

The story of the arrival of the crown in Paris is a dramatic tale of the sacking of a majestic city, a bankrupt empire, and a saintly monarch desirous of manifesting leadership of Christendom in medieval Europe.

Three of the four Gospel narratives record that Jesus, during his Passion, was crowned with thorns by Roman soldiers (Mark 15:17, Matt 27:29, John 19:2, 5). However, documentary evidence for the crown’s whereabouts after the Crucifixion are scarce until the fifth century, when the Gallo-Roman bishop St. Paulinus of Nola (354-431) referenced the relics of the crown and the cross in his writings. A century later, the Roman senator and later monk Cassiodorus (c. 490-585) mentioned the relic of the crown of thorns in his commentary on Psalm 86.

Another sixth-century reference is found in the travel diary of the anonymous Pilgrim of Piacenza, a Christian from Italy who went on pilgrimage to the Holy Land, who wrote, “There is in that church [the basilica Church of Hagia Zion] also the crown of thorns with which the Lord was crowned.” From the sixth to the tenth centuries, there are reports of the distribution of thorns from the crown to various persons including St. Germanus (c. 469-576), the bishop of Paris; Charlemagne (742-814), king of the Franks and holy roman emperor; and the Anglo-Saxon king Æthelstan (894-939). It is believed that sometime in the mid-eleventh century the crown was transferred from Jerusalem to Constantinople, where it remained for nearly two centuries.

In the thirteenth century, Robert de Clari (1170-1216), a French warrior who participated in the Fourth Crusade (1201-1205), provided a description of his Crusade activities. He describes in his chronicle the multitude of precious objects and sacred relics contained within the majestic city of Constantinople:

Within this chapel were found… two pieces of the true cross… two nails that were driven through the midst of his hands and through the midst of his feet. And there, too, was found the blessed crown wherewith he was crowned, which was wrought of sea rushes, sharp as dagger blades.”

The Fourth Crusade, in 1204, resulted in the sack of Constantinople, which Pope Innocent III (r.1198-1216) condemned, and the establishment of a Latin Empire (called “this new France” by Pope Honorius III and colloquially known as “Romania”) that lasted until 1261. The Latin Empire faced significant challenges in its short existence, including the presence of exiled Byzantines, who wanted their imperial capital back, and a lack of western military manpower. Many westerners left the Holy Land and settled in Latin-controlled Constantinople, which ultimately weakened Christian-controlled territory in the Latin East (Acre, one of the last major Christian cities in the Holy Land, fell to a Muslim army in 1291).

The last Latin emperor to rule in Constantinople was Baldwin II (r. 1228–1273), who was also the only Latin emperor born in the city. Faced with significant financial difficulties, Baldwin embarked on a tour of western Europe in a recruitment campaign for men and money. While in France, Baldwin received word that his barons had borrowed money from the Venetians and used the crown of thorns as collateral. He begged King St. Louis IX(1214–1270) to help him repay the loan to prevent the transfer of the precious relic to Venice. In return, Baldwin promised to gift the crown of thorns to Louis.

The saintly monarch envisioned France as a new Holy Land, and what better way to manifest that vision than with possession of the relics of the Lord’s Passion. The king earnestly believed that the offer from Baldwin was providential and agreed to provide the funds to the young emperor. King Louis sent two Dominicans (Jacques and André), one of whom had spent time in Constantinople and could verify the authenticity of the relic, with a royal letter to the imperial city. The royal messengers arrived on June 17, 1238, one day before the loan’s due date. The Venetians, disappointed that the prized relic would not permanently reside in their city, honored the king’s payment with the condition that Louis allow the crown to travel to Venice for a period of veneration by the inhabitants of the republic. Louis agreed to the request, and, in 1239, the crown was transported across the sea to Venice, where it was received with much adulation.

That same year, the relic began the overland journey to France. Miraculous occurrences were reported during its journey to Louis’s kingdom, including weather phenomena wherein no rain fell when the relic was transported by day but torrential rains when it was safely inside at night. The king planned to accompany the crown into Paris (along with his mother, brothers, several bishops, barons and knights), meeting it ninety miles away at the town of Villeneuve-l’Archevêque.

From there, the king and his entourage began a penitential procession to Sens, which welcomed the relic with great fanfare. Clerics brought out the city’s collection of saint relics to welcome the crown amid the ringing of church bells and the sound of organs. The relic’s journey of continued via the Yonne River from Sens to Vincennes over several days. As they neared Paris, Louis and his brother Robert carried the crown of thorns into the city barefoot, each wearing a single tunic. Once inside the city, the king took the crown to Notre Dame Cathedral for a brief period before its arrival at the royal palace, where it was placed in the Chapel of St. Nicholas.

Recognizing that such a holy relic should not remain in a small palace chapel, King St. Louis IX ordered the construction of a special chapel on the Île de la Cité, near Notre Dame. The Gothic style chapel, known as Sainte-Chapelle (Holy Chapel), containing fifteen exquisite stained glass windows that depict 1,113 scenes from the Bible, was consecrated on April 26, 1248.

The crown of thorns remained in Sainte-Chapelle for over 500 years until the French Revolution, which saw the crown removed to the National Library for several years until the archbishop of Paris received it back with the signing of the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII. Subsequently, the crown was placed in Notre Dame. Encased in a jeweled rock crystal reliquary and containing only a circlet of rushes and no thorns, the relic was displayed on First Fridays of the month and Fridays during Lent, including Good Friday when the faithful were allowed to venerate it.

Although the fire destroyed the spire and wooden roof of the almost 900-year-old cathedral, a courageous priest, Fr. Jean-Marc Fournier,  rescued the crown, along with other holy relics and the Blessed Sacrament, from the blaze. Let us hope and pray that the renewed interest and knowledge of Notre Dame Cathedral and the crown of thorns caused by the great fire of 2019 might bring a resurgence of faith to France—the Eldest Daughter of the Church—and the whole world.

by Steve Weidenkkopf in catholic.com

Cátaros, la doctrina prohibida

Posted on Updated on

z_OA_FR_10431-z

Mucho se ha escrito sobre catarismo desde distintos puntos de vista. Ahora, el autor de este reportaje nos avanza parte de las claves que desvela en su último libro Cátaros, el secreto de los últimos herejes –Espejo de Tinta–, un trabajo que dará que hablar…

Existe, no cabe duda, un neocatarismo impulsado por el romanticismo surgido a principios del siglo XX con autores como Peyrat, Roché, Magre o Gadal, que hicieron resurgir de sus cenizas –y nunca mejor dicho– la Cruzada Albigense. Otros recuperaron de la memoria unos hechos que pudieron haber cambiado el destino de Europa. A partir de los estudios efectuados por René Nelli, las investigaciones se convirtieron en más rigurosas, y con el paso del tiempo otros investigadores como Duvernoy y Roquebert tomaron el relevo. Finalmente, Anne Brennon, la actual conservadora del Centre d’Études Catahres en Carcasona, es quien ha proseguido con la labor historiográfica.

Pero también existe la otra cara de la moneda, innegablemente mucho más comercial. De Sède, Angebert, Blum o Nataf, por poner unos pocos ejemplos, son autores que han conseguido determinados éxitos con sus trabajos pseudos-esotéricos, en los que el misterio y las conjeturas son elementos principales.

No hay duda de que existen lagunas y muchas preguntas sin respuesta, pero, como en tantas ocasiones, se ha caído en el tópico y el cliché; fanáticos, anticlericales, dualistas y un sinfín de calificativos, han acompañado a los bons hommes a largo de la historia. Sin embargo, subyacen realidades mucho más profundas que no han sido divulgadas como merecieran, tal vez por omisión o por desconocimiento de las mismas.

A partir del descubrimiento del belga Théo Vencheleer de textos originales como el Ritual Cátaro escrito en occitano, que se encontraba en la biblioteca del Trinity College de Dublín, y el Interrogatio Iohannis, salvado milagrosamente de la persecución de los inquisidores, se produjo un cambio sustancial en las investigaciones. Hasta aquel momento, todos los estudios estaban basados en los documentos inquisitoriales y en las crónicas de los vencedores. Finalmente, con el hallazgo de los rollos del mar Muerto y los manuscritos evangélicos apócrifos de Nag Hammadi, el giro resultó definitivo.

Los descubiertos en el citado mar Muerto son los que han recibido mayor difusión. Tras largos años de investigaciones, a los que hay que añadir todo tipo de teorías, especulaciones e interpretaciones, se llegó finalmente a la conclusión generalizada de que los escritos pertenecían a la secta de los esenios. A partir de aquí, las opiniones están divididas entre aquellos que afirman que ello fue la base del nacimiento del cristianismo, y los que lo niegan argumentando que dicha religión apareció un par de siglos más tarde. Pero una corriente filosófico-religiosa no nace de la noche a la mañana; precisa de una base embrionaria, de un desarrollo y finalmente de su establecimiento, y ello sólo es posible con la ayuda del paso del tiempo.

Con los hallazgos de Nag Hammadi, menos conocidos y anteriores a los del mar Muerto, pues los primeros se produjeron en 1945 y los segundos en 1947, aparecen los textos denominados gnósticos. Se trata de los primeros Evangelios Apócrifos que, a modo de un guiño histórico, están sugiriéndonos que en ellos se encuentran las primeras corrientes –que serían llamadas dualistas mucho más tarde–, y en consecuencia heréticas para los Padres de la Iglesia.

Allí se encuentran las bases de todas las “herejías” que llegarían a convulsionar los intentos de la Iglesia para unificar criterios y llegar a constituir sus bases doctrinales. Desde Zoroastro hasta el catarismo, fueron muchas las figuras que basaron sus ideas y conceptos en esos textos. Pero lo más sorprendente del caso fue que de todas estas corrientes heterodoxas, el catarismo no sólo se basaba en un auténtico gnosticismo, sino que los propios Evangelios canónicos servían de base para su doctrina, sobre todo el de San Juan. Los cátaros aportan el libro de Los Dos Principios, atribuido a Jean de Lugio, el Ritual Cátaro o el Manuscrito de Florencia, como prueba para demostrar que eran auténticos cristianos. Unos pocos versículos bíblicos serán suficientes para comprobar por qué sus ideas –y más aún su comportamiento– ha sido tachado de radical.

El gnosticismo, y en consecuencia el catarismo, rechazaban el Antiguo Testamento. En él se descubren dos entidades antagónicas, una cruel y vengativa, y otra muy distinta, misericorde y bondadosa. Algo no encaja, y por ello, el llamado dualismo encuentra suficientes razones en las que basar sus argumentos.

Aparentemente, según reflejan las Sagradas Escrituras, Jesús estaba en contra de esa iglesia y de sus representantes. Con ello se enfrentaba al Jehová del Antiguo Testamento y a toda tradición hebrea tergiversada y alejada del verdadero mensaje. No es de extrañar que dijera en su momento, que no había venido para cambiar la ley sino para que se cumpliera.

La imposición de manos
El gnosticismo, del griego gnosis –“conocimiento”– no admitía una divinidad con propiedades y características negativas tal y como se exponían en el Antiguo Testamento, pues éstas se encontraban muy alejadas de los conceptos de un Dios bueno y justo. Su aceptación vendría a ser como un insulto a la inteligencia humana. Inteligencia que por otro lado era una de las manifestaciones creadas por la misma divinidad. Ello no tenía sentido y no encajaba con sus bases filosófico-religiosas. Tal rechazo se hacía evidente. Además, la salvación del ser humano tenía que efectuarse a través de una toma de conciencia de trascendencia y de conocimiento, y no con el seguimiento de una fe ciega cuya base doctrinal estaba en manos de intermediarios entre Dios y el hombre.

Existen versículos de los Evangelios que prueban la existencia de un profundo esoterismo siempre negado por la Iglesia. En el Nuevo Testamento, por ejemplo, pueden encontrarse apartados claramente significativos. El conocido consolhament de los perfectos del catarismo, es decir, la imposición de manos, es un claro referente. Este gesto ritual lo han realizado todas las religiones, desde Egipto hasta la actualidad.

Podrían citarse numerosos versículos en los que la imposición de manos está presente como en los Hechos de los Apóstoles (IXX, 2-6), cuando el apóstol Pablo se dirige a Éfeso, en Lucas (XIII, 11-13) y podríamos seguir con Números, Deuteronomio, Marcos, etc. “…una vez hayas acercado a los levitas hasta la presencia del Señor, los israelitas impondrán las manos sobre ellos”. “Josué, hijo de Nun, estaba lleno de espíritu de Sabiduría, porque Moisés había impuesto sus manos sobre él, y los israelitas obedecieron, obrando de acuerdo con la orden que el Señor había dado a Moisés”. “A los que tengan fe le seguirán estas señales: impondrán las manos a los enfermos y éstos sanarán”. Estos son, respectivamente, los versículos en los que, una vez más, el ritual de las manos se va repitiendo a lo largo de los Evangelios.

Los cátaros sabían del simbolismo evangélico. Jesús hablaba en parábolas para que tan sólo unos pocos supieran de los contenidos y su interpretación como sucedía con los apóstoles. Ciertos conocimientos estaban siempre presentes en sus enseñanzas, y en alguna ocasión, incluso el maestro llegó a pedir silencio sobre los mismos.

También la cruzada y su implacable persecución contra la denominada herejía albigense estaba argumentada por los perseguidos, pues ya había sido vaticinada en las Escrituras. Considerándose auténticos cristianos, se identificaban con las palabras de Juan el Evangelista (XVI, 2-3): “Os echarán de las sinagogas; y aún viene la hora, cuando cualquiera que os matare, pensará que hace servicio a Dios”. “…y estas cosas os harán, porque no conocen al Padre ni a mí”. Asimismo, en Mateo (X, 22-23) leemos: “Seréis odiados por los hombres a causa de mi nombre; pero aquel que perseverare será salvo. Y cuando os persigan en una ciudad, huid a otra”.

Jesús hijo… o no
Uno de los puntos más candentes y controvertidos de los Evangelios –y para el catarismo, claro está– es el de la divinidad de Jesús. ¿Dios encarnado o simplemente un hombre extraordinario? Motivo de grandes polémicas, discrepancias y persecuciones, para el gnosticismo se trataba de un ser humano excepcional, y para los cátaros de una ilusión corpórea aparente, conocida como docetismo.

El radicalismo del que fueron acusados los cátaros –y que muchos llevaron al extremo–, podemos encontrarlo en numerosos versículos. Si rechazaban la materia, a la jerarquía eclesiástica y afirmaban que Dios se encontraba en todo lo creado y en consecuencia no daban utilidad alguna a los templos, no era debido a una corriente filosófico-religiosa particular, sino por tomar las Escrituras como modelo de comportamiento. En las Epístolas de San Pablo a los Hebreos (X, 4) puede leerse: “…pues es imposible que sangre de toros y machos cabríos borren pecados”. Posteriormente repite el mensaje: (X, 11) y leemos lo siguiente: “…y ciertamente, todo sacerdote está en pie, día tras día, oficiando y ofreciendo reiteradamente los mismos sacrificios, que nunca pueden borrar pecados”. Estos versículos –y otros semejantes– eran la base por la cual el catarismo no daba ningún valor a la liturgia del denominado Sacrificio de la Santa Misa. Reprobaban que en cada ocasión se oficiara el sacrificio de la divinidad para salvación nuestra. Para ellos, nada más alejado de la realidad. Por dicho motivo tampoco podían venerar a la cruz, símbolo de crueldad y padecimiento que imposibilitaba la muerte divina. Dios eterno no podía morir –según afirmaba la Iglesia–, aunque se argumentara dicho fallecimiento como material, es decir, el cuerpo de Cristo, y no una muerte espiritual, su parte divina.

Estas ideas y conceptos, que se expandieron con el gnosticismo –mucho más cercano a los hechos–, dio como resultado el que muchos de los contenidos evangélicos posean un trasfondo gnóstico, a pesar de que ello sea negado por la institución eclesiástica. Buscando algunos versículos, como el de Lucas en los Hechos de los Apóstoles, nos ofrecerán una visión muy distinta de la predicada. El rechazo a los templos se encuentra en (XVII, 24): “El Dios que hizo el mundo y todo lo que hay en él, como es Señor del cielo y de la tierra, no habita en templos hechos de manos”.

Proseguir buscando versículos que justificaran las posturas de las distintas herejías resultaría finalmente tedioso. En ocasiones, los evangelios se expresan de forma literal pero en otras el mensaje posee una doble lectura que va mucho más allá de lo aparentemente escrito.

Y los templarios
En otro orden de cosas, de entre los muchos interrogantes y respuestas pendientes sobre el catarismo, uno de los enigmas que han suscitado todo tipo de opiniones y teorías, ha sido sin duda alguna la posible relación entre la Orden del Temple y los cátaros. Unos consideran que los templarios combatieron al lado de los cruzados y en contra de la herejía, debido al juramento de obediencia a la Iglesia y al rey. Otros creen que no participaron en el genocidio pues para ellos los cátaros en realidad no eran heréticos sino simplemente cristianos. Unos terceros, incluso, llegan a sostener que ayudaron a los supervivientes a llegar a España.

Sea como fuere, existen una serie de indicios que hacen sospechar que tanto cátaros como templarios sostuvieron buenas relaciones. No se trata de pruebas concluyentes, pues la mayoría de ellas fueron a título personal, pero suficientes como para tener dudas más que razonables al respecto. Se sabe de la amistad que existía entre la familia Vernet y la encomienda templaria de Mas Déu, en el Rosellón. Dicha familia procátara, hizo entrega de tierras a la Orden. El señor Pons II de Vernet, se convirtió en su benefactor y en cofrade del Temple en 1223. Enterrado en dicha encomienda, la Inquisición ordenó la exhumación del cadáver, y juzgado post-mortem por hereje, sus huesos fueron quemados como los de tantos otros. Tuvo el mismo fin Arnaud de Mudagons, cuya familia estaba muy unida a la de Vernet.

Al comienzo del siglo XIII, la nobleza del Languedoc tenía lazos familiares y de parentesco con la Orden templaria. Muchos caballeros pertenecían a la nobleza, y a pesar de sus votos de castidad, los monjes-guerreros tuvieron esposas con mujeres de dicho estatus. A ello se añadía el deseo de ser enterrados en tierra cristiana, evitando la excomunión, “arma” muy utilizada por la Iglesia en aquella época. Conocidos “herejes” como Olivier de Termes y Bernard Hugues de Serralongue, hicieron importantes donaciones al Temple. Béranger, de la familia Barabaira, fue bodeguero de las encomienda de Mas Déu.

Uno de los grandes señores de aquel tiempo fue Pierre de Fenouillet, quien sostenía excelentes relaciones con las nobles familias heréticas del vecino Languedoc. En compañía de Chatbert de Barabaira y Raymond Trencavel, reconquistaron el Razés, antes de verse obligados por los vaivenes de la contienda a refugiarse en el Rosellón. Veinte años después de su muerte, acontecida en la encomienda de Mas Déu en 1261, el inquisidor Pons de Huguet abría una investigación. A pesar de la oposición familiar fue condenado al igual que Pons II de Vernet y Arnaud de Mudagons a que sus huesos se quemaran por herejes.

Otro hechos no menos importantes van añadiéndose a la supuesta conexión cátaro-templaria. Cerca de Carcasona, en la encomienda de Douzens, fueron descubiertos unos documentos en los que podían reconocerse una serie de donaciones efectuadas a la iglesia cátara. Estas pruebas, que van apareciendo poco a poco, parecen ir confirmando teorías rechazadas por el historicismo académico.

Finalmente, existe una no menos curiosa situación histórica que bien merece nuestra atención. Hubo un noble llamado Bertrand de Blanchefort, según documentos, conocido por sus supuestas conexiones con el catarismo y que había luchado al lado del célebre Raymond Roger de Trencavel –vizconde de Carcasona–, antes de formar parte de la Orden del Temple. Al convertirse en caballero, hizo donación de sus tierras situadas en las cercanías de Rennes-le-Château y de Bezu, una de las más importantes encomiendas de la región. Su progresión dentro de la Orden le llevó a convertirse en Gran Maestre (1156-1169). Mandó venir desde Alemania a un contingente de mineros para que cavaran una serie de galerías bajo el monte Blanchefort, pues una hipótesis de siglos indica que dichos túneles tenían que servir de almacén clandestino al Temple. Hasta hoy, nada se sabe al respecto.

Los textos ocultos
El espacio del que disponíamos está llegando a su fin, pero todavía nos permite conocer algo novedoso –o cuanto menos insólito– de la llamada herejía albigense. Desde que se desarrolló la escritura, se buscaron sistemas para ocultar mensajes codificados. Esos criptogramas han sido utilizados por todas las lenguas y culturas. En el llamado Manuscrito de Florencia, uno de los escasos textos cátaros originales que se conservan, aparecen tres líneas escritas por mano ajena al documento que se encuentran a pie de página y cuya caligrafía es claramente diferente.

Redactado en latín, como era costumbre, el contenido criptográfico hace referencia al archiconocido consolhament, es decir, la imposición de manos. Clasificado como Folio 51r, se ha llegado a descubrir que se utilizaron dos métodos o sistemas para su realización. Los investigadores A. Dondaine, su descubridor, y A. Borst, dataron dicho documento aproximadamente de 1280 y 1276 respectivamente. Tal vez el catarismo todavía guarda celosamente alguna que otra sorpresa que en su día nos obligará a escribir nuevamente su historia.

Y es que la historia de Occitania es la de un país bañado por el Sol, en el que se comerciaba con Oriente, desde donde partían las expediciones de las Cruzadas hacia Tierra Santa, y en la que el hombre y la mujer eran iguales ante la ley. Tolosa y Avignon eran más importantes que París o Roma, y ambas ciudades seguían las reglas del derecho romano.

La cruzada albigense fue un buen pretexto para que el rey y los barones del norte se apoderaran de todo el Midi francés, y para que la Iglesia no perdiera su poder. Ya Clovis tramó el pretexto del arrianismo para invadir el sur en el año 506, ganando a los visigodos, aliados de los gascones, en la batalla de Vouillé. El rey de Francia y sus barones sólo hicieron lo mismo 700 años más tarde, invocando la herejía cátara. La historia siempre se repite.

Sourced from akasiko

Jacques DeMolay, Grand Master of the Knights Templar, cursed a king and a pope as he burned at the stake — launching an undying myth

Posted on Updated on

templ002

Seven hundred years ago today, a dying knight uttered a curse as the flames of the pyre he was tied to lapped at his feet. Those words continue to haunt us even now.

That knight was Jacques de Molay. He was the Grand Master of the Order of the Poor Knights of the Temple of Solomon, generally known as the Knights Templar.

A fraction more than two centuries after the Knights of Order of the Temple of Solomon had been founded amid the rubble of Jerusalem to defend the Holy Land, it would now be ended by flame in the heart of Paris. Betrayed by a king he trusted and a pope he was sworn to obey, in his final hours DeMolay fought fervently against the false charges which had destroyed his international network of Christian warriors.

His dying curse was powerful. And effective.

S’en vendra en brief temps meschie / Let evil swiftly befall

Sus celz qui nous dampnent a tort; / Those who have wrongly condemned us;

Diex en vengera nostre mort. / God will avenge our death.

Pope Clement V, complicit by design or cowardice, was dead 33 days later — from a severe bout of dysentery brought about by advanced bowel cancer.

King Philip IV of France, who had been happy to kill and defame Christendom’s defenders for their wealth and land, died within eight months. This time it was a hunting accident.

It was the final act in a power play that makes the schemes of Game of Thrones seem like mere schoolyard squabbles. De Molay, oddly, lives on. A contemporary source tells of a group of monks secretly swimming to his funeral pyre on an island in Paris’ River Seine to gather up the old man’s bones as holy relics. His name has echoed through history ever since. The idea of the Order of the Temple itself refused to die.

Though formally disbanded and its assets nominally handed over to their arch rivals — the Knights Hospitaller — there were few untouched enclaves of Templars who changed their name to escape retribution. But the black-and-white banner of the Poor Knights would rise time and again throughout history by the oppressed and those seeking association with secrets, occult and mystery. And, as the likes of The DaVinci Code, Game of Thrones and Ivanhoe attest, it’s an idea that resonates even now.

 

SIGNED, SEALED — AND DELIVERED?

De Molay’s last stand was something of a surprise.

The supreme commander of more than 2000 knights, sergeants and attendants had put up a pitiful performance after the sudden arrest of his brethren on Friday, October 13, 1307. It was a date that would go down in infamy for its ill fortune.

It had been an extraordinary operation: King Philip’s sheriffs all through France had been secretly notified to conduct the coordinated arrests that same night. Once hauled forward to face trumped up charges of heresy, sodomy and sedition, the stunned church seemed powerless to defend its own. Torture did the rest, quickly extracting confessions for the most heinous of crimes — heresy.

But by 1314 the scandal had died down. The arrest and accusations against the Templars was old news. The fate of its members — and its wealth — seemed little more than a formality. A papal commission of inquiry was appointed to pass final judgment on four of the Templar’s most senior commanders. Two of the inquisitors were considered “royal” men — being close associates of King Philip “the Fair”. The third cardinal was one of Pope Clement’s closest friends. Naturally, the outcome was a foregone conclusion.

It was to be a public show trial, carefully scripted and conducted under the watchful eye of King Philip’s city guard and most loyal followers and performed on scaffolding erected in front of the famous Notre Dame cathedral. But something inside de Molay had changed. The seven years of torture and imprisonment had not weakened his spirit. It had reinforced it. In fact, the Grand Master had been held in solitary confinement the dungeon of his own Paris fortress for the previous four years. Now in his 70s, de Molay’s body must have been wracked by injury, malnutrition and lack of sunlight.

Stepping out into the warm light and seeing his brothers-in-arms again after so long must have ignited his spirit in a way it had never been before. He and his colleagues — Geoffroi de Charney, Hughes de Pairaud and Goeffroi de Gonneville — were dressed in their Order’s iconic white robes emblazoned with the blood-red cross and paraded in front of the crowd. It was intended to be their final humiliation.

templ001

LAST ACT OF DEFIANCE

The people of Paris were expecting a show. A performance. A tragedy. They got what they wanted — but not the anticipated script.

The day, March 18, 1314, started well. The full list of charges was read out to the crowd: Heresy. Homosexuality. Corruption. All were reminded that the Templar commanders — including de Molay — had long since confessed to these most awful of crimes. It was time to pass sentence. As the senior cardinal began to read from a decree announcing that the three Templar leaders would face perpetual imprisonment, he was unexpectedly interrupted. By de Molay.

The Grand Master who had seemingly confessed so easily to such serious sin seven years earlier — and who had refused to speak out during the show trials which followed — finally found his voice. He demanded to be heard. He asserted his innocence, and that of his colleagues. He accused the king and pope of false accusations and of rigging the trials. The crowd was shocked. They knew what this meant. An unexpected spectacle: A burning at the stake. Such was the fate of all confessed heretics who renounced their crimes. But the performance was not yet over.

De Molay’s old colleague under the searing sun of the Holy Land, Geoffroi de Charney, suddenly took up the battle cry. Both launched into a forceful defence of their innocence and a blistering attack on those who sought to steal their land, their power, and their honour. They harangued the esteemed cardinals for their complicity. They emphatically denied the allegations and pointedly revoked every aspect of their prior confessions. De Molay and de Charney knew the consequences. So did the remaining two Templar officials — de Pairaud and de Gonneville. Both cowered into the background, abandoning their superiors to their last stand.

The cardinals were stunned. They quickly fled the uproarious scene. The king’s men knew what to do. Such a revocation of guilt meant the Grand Master and the Preceptor of Normandy had voided the protection of the Church and were now under royal jurisdiction. They dragged the two Templars away.

 

FINAL OUTRAGE

King Philip heard of the outburst within minutes. His extravagant new palace was just a few hundred meters up the road. It was too much for the troubled king to tolerate. His family was torn by scandal — the wives of his three sons all having been found guilty of adultery only months earlier. Any other such challenge to his flagging authority and reputation needed to be stamped upon, and quickly. He summoned an immediate session of his royal council. Nominally it was to discuss and pass judgment upon the two relapsed heretics. In reality it was most likely a shouting session. The verdict was arbitrary anyway.

King Philip gave the two Templars what they wanted. He immediately issued his decree: Jacques de Molay and Geoffroi de Charney were to be burnt at the stake that very evening, at the hour of Vespers. The place of execution was ordered to be a small sandbank at the foot of the island in the middle of medieval Paris which formed the seat of royal and religious power. It sat in full view of the island’s royal gardens and palace, and of the Monastery of St Augustine on the opposite bank of the River Seine.

Meanwhile, the Templars Hughes de Pairaud and Goeffroi de Gonneville had been whisked away by church officials to serve their sentences of life imprisonment. Both would die prolonged, miserable deaths.

 

BURNING RIGHTEOUSNESS

De Molay and De Charney were bundled through the seething crowds filling Paris’ streets. Word of their fate had spread. Nobody wanted to miss the show.

It was the end of an era. All knew this. All wanted to see how this suddenly courageous Grand Master faced his death. Chroniclers from the time tell of how de Molay willingly cast off his clothes and walked up to the pyre dressed only in his undershirt. Some say he asked to be tied to the stake with his hands free so he could pray. All paint a picture of a calm and determined man, content with his fate.

As the flames took hold, they seem to have only ignited anger within the old knight. The Chronicler of Paris wrote:

Seignors, dis il, sachiez, sans tere, / Sirs, he said, know, without any doubt

Que touz celz qui nous sont contrere / That all those who are against us

Por nous en arront a souffrir. / For us will have to suffer.

It was an age of superstition. While the sparks of the Renaissance were beginning to fly — particularly among the new universities of Paris — there was still a pervasive belief in the power of curses, prayer and prophecy. The chroniclers tell of “how gently” de Molay met his execution. To the silent crowd, this would have only added to the power of his final words.

De Charney, seeing the extraordinary manner in which his commander had died, declared he was proud to burn in the colours of his Order, and desired to do so with the same grace as his Grand Master. The righteous piety in which the two knights were immolated was in stark contrast to the stories of cowardice, corruption and heresy the Paris crowd had been sold over so many years. Their deaths invoked so much admiration among the crowd that it inspired centuries of doubt as to their guilt. It also inspired the myths that seemingly will not die.

 

THE TEMPLAR CODE

It’s a story with stark relevance to the modern world.

The Templars were, in essence, an international corporation. A network of farms, estates, banks and markets which fed a bureaucracy full of infighting, divergent purposes and ambition under the helm of a single chief executive officer — in this case Jacques de Molay.

King Philip’s government was bankrupt. He’d squandered his wealth on a series of failed wars and expensive monuments to his ego. He needed cash. He needed income. He lusted for power. The manner in which the hearts and minds of Europe’s pious public were played, how the legal system was manipulated and how the cowed Catholic Church capitulated still triggers fears of grand-scale, high-level conspiracy and corruption.

But the Templars themselves — as pious knights, as warrior-monks sworn to fight for their beliefs — reflect our fear for modern religious-inspired terrorism and the righteous claims of those who fight against it. Add to the mix the charges of heresy, magic and conspiracy and you have a rich recipe few authors — and charlatans — can resist.

They’ve been linked to the Turin Shroud, the Holy Grail and the ‘hidden bloodline’ of Jesus Christ. From Ivanhoe to Indiana JonesHellbound to Assassin’s CreedKingdom of Heavento The DaVinci Code — the myth of the Templars all play a part. And the name of the Order has been invoked by secret societies for centuries, seeking to draw upon the mystical might of the knights’ name.

It’s a power still present today: One of Mexico’s most powerful drug gangs has twisted the image, and the name — The Knights Templar Cartel — to suit their own anti-authoritarian needs.

But put aside the myth and the mayhem and you will find the real history of the Order of the Poor Knights of Christ of the Temple of Jerusalem to be fully fascinating in itself.

As the final hours of Jacques de Molay show: There is no need for embellishment.

Sourced from news.com.au

Creative Commons

The guru with a gift for brainwashing

Posted on Updated on

Thierry Tilly looks like a geography teacher or a chartered accountant, or a French version of Bill Gates. He claims, variously, to be a Nato “master-spy”, a confidant of presidents and prime ministers, a financial genius, a 21st-century representative of an ancient, secret order descended from the Knights Templar and a man with superhuman powers sworn to fight the forces of evil.

He is now in a French prison, refusing to answer questions on possible charges of kidnap, brutality and torture. Seven or eight of his followers, from three generations of a French aristocratic family, are living in Oxford, Tilly’s base for the past nine years. One of them, formerly a gynaecologist, is working as a gardener. Others have jobs in fast-food restaurants. Until 2006, 11 members of the family had spent five years barricaded in their château at Monflanquin, 100 miles east of Bordeaux.

Their relatives say they remain under the spell of a lurid fantasy, which might have been torn from the pages of a Dan Brown thriller. They have been convinced by Tilly that their family – the De Védrines, part of the Protestant nobility of south-west France for 300 years – has been chosen to struggle against supreme evil by an ancient order called L’Equilibre du Monde (The Balance of the World). Lawyers and relatives say they refuse to accept that they have been duped and fleeced of the family fortune of up to €5m (£4.5m) by an unscrupulous, possibly deranged but mysteriously effective con-man.

Angry landlords in Oxford, owed tens of thousands of pounds by Tilly and his followers, say the De Védrines, aged from 96 to 24, are not necessarily all victims. Some members of the clan, they say, have become Tilly’s willing accomplices.

Dotty sect or elaborate fraud? Either way, since the arrest of Thierry Tilly, 44, in Switzerland last month, relatives in France are desperately worried. They fear that the “Oxford Eight” (or perhaps seven) may be so deeply under Tilly’s spell that they could fall victim to a mass suicide pact. They are angry that British authorities have refused to treat the Tilly affair seriously for more than eight months.

Jean Marchand, 62, a former financial journalist, has run an almost single-handed crusade against Tilly for eight years. The Oxford Eight include his former wife, Ghislaine de Vedrines, 55, and his two children, Guillemette, 32, and François, 30. In September 2001, they abruptly severed all ties with M. Marchand, whom they declared to be an “agent of evil”. His daughter, Guillemette, then 24, abandoned her husband after only four months of marriage. Neither husband nor father has seen her since.

M. Marchand’s wife and children barricaded themselves into the family mansion in France with Ghislaine’s elderly mother, also called Guillemette. They were joined by Ghislaine’s two highly educated and successful brothers, Philippe, then 56, and Charles- Henri, 53, Charles-Henri’s wife Christine, 51, and their three children, Guillaume, 24, Amaury, 21 and Diane, 16. The transfer of the family to Oxford began in 2006.

“I still cannot explain Tilly’s hold on my family. It is a kind of mental kidnapping,” M. Marchand said. “He does not even have to be physically present to control them. Almost from the beginning, he has issued most of his orders by telephone or by email and they have always obeyed him.”

For years, the French judicial authorities refused to intervene, despite a police investigation which showed that the family fortune, in cash, furniture, paintings, jewelry and property, was being systematically liquidated and transferred to accounts controlled by Tilly. In March this year, Charles-Henri’s wife, Christine, fled the group in Oxford and returned to France.

She told French police she had been tortured, physically and mentally, beaten and kept for days in darkened rooms. The ill-treatment, she said, was supposed to dredge from deep in her unconscious the whereabouts of a lost treasure of the Knights Templar, the powerful, shadowy, medieval order of chivalry suppressed by the French monarchy in 1307.

The French authorities issued a European arrest warrant. But. despite several requests by a French investigating magistrate, the British judicial authorities refused to honour the warrant for technical reasons. Tilly was finally arrested aboard an aircraft at Zurich airport on 21 October and extradited to France.

“You might think, or hope, that, with Tilly under arrest, the spell would be broken and they would return, painfully, to reality,” M. Marchand told The Independent in his Paris suburban home, still crowded with portraits of his lost family. “But no, it seems not. They are just as much under his spell as they were before.

“I keep thinking of the Temple du Soleil and Jim Jones’ followers in Guyana [sects which entered mass suicide pacts in 1994 and 1978]. What kind of instructions has Tilly given them? Time may be short. The authorities in France have started to take this affair seriously but in Britain we are still being ignored.”

A few days ago, M. Marchand and his lawyer, an expert criminal psychologist, and other helpers visited Oxford and tried to speak to his relatives, now living in guest-houses, expelled from large houses after they failed to pay rent. The attempt led to violent verbal clashes, photographed and filmed by French journalists. M. Marchand tried to accost his son, François, on the street, leading to another shouting match. Oxford police told M. Marchand there was nothing they could do.

“I love Britain. I have a great admiration for Britain,” M. Mar-chand said. “But the attitude of the UK judicial system in this affair has been unhelpful and obstructive since the beginning. Tilly is a convicted fraudster, with other legal problems in Britain and France. He is being sued, many times over, by ex-landlords in Oxford. The French investigating magistrate has asked for the right simply to interview the members of the De Védrines family still in Oxford. He has been systematically refused.”

M. Marchand is especially worried about his daughter, Guillemette, who has not been seen in public for months. In theory, she is still in Oxford but Mr Marchand fears she has been taken elsewhere; or that something worse may have happened to her.

Philippe de Védrines, a former oil executive, now 71, was the first family member to “escape” from Tilly, with his wife Brigitte, 61, in 2008. Much of the French police information on Tilly’s methods and far-fetched claims comes from Philippe, now living in Normandy. He refuses to bring a legal action or talk to the press.

The second breakthrough came in March this year. Christine de Védrines, 59, the wife of the former gynaecologist, Charles-Henri, was persuaded to flee from Tilly by a Frenchman, living in Oxford, for whom she worked as a cook. Robert Pouget was born in Paris and educated in Britain. He came back to England after his French military service and started a business in Oxford selling fresh produce. Mr Pouget said: “After more than a year of working for me, we sat discussing things one night after hours and she just came out with all of it, the whole story.

“She had been incarcerated of her own volition with these people. They had told her she was the direct descendant of people who knew where treasure, handed down from generation to generation, had been hidden by the Knights Templar as a fund to help French aristocrats if they got into trouble: except, she couldn’t remember where it was hidden or how to get it. She said she was taken from bank to bank in Brussels to try to find it but she just couldn’t remember. I told her that was because she had never known. She was told a lie.”

Mr Pouget arranged for Christine to call a cousin in France, who came to collect her within two days. “Christine was a very sweet, nice woman. She was good-natured and kind. When she came to work with normal people, little by little I think, the realisation dawned that it was all an illusion.”

Andrew Scully, 48, also rues the day he ever met Thierry Tilly and the De Védrines. Since renting two houses in Cornwallis Road, Oxford, to Tilly and Guillaume, in 2006 he has been involved in 19 court cases, partly for non-payment of rent, partly counter-claims by the De Védrines.

He rejects the suggestion that the De Védrines are hapless victims. He believes they are “all in it”, especially Guillaume, whom he describes as “Tilly’s right-hand man”. He adds: “They were almost imprisoned in a house that was boarded and shuttered. No one was allowed in or out. Tilly tried to tell me I was being watched and followed, that he had his own entourage of enforcers. I don’t care what happens to any of them, after what they have put me through. They think they are a high-and-mighty, wealthy family but they are just money-grabbing.”

Tilly, in prison in south-west France, is refusing to answer questions. But how was he able to commandeer the lives of three generations of a family, described by M. Marchand as “previously joyous, outward-going, successful people”?

The man was born in March 1964 in Bois-Colombes, west of Paris. He has a record of fraud convictions and failed companies in France. In 1999, he began to work for Mr Marchand’s former wife, Ghislaine (née De Védrines), who ran a successful secretarial school in Paris. He was rapidly taken into Ghislaine’s confidence and, through her, became friendly with her two brothers. M. Marchand said: “I asked her colleagues whether they thought that Tilly and my wife were having an affair. They said, ‘No, we think it’s far, far worse than that’.”

Tilly even tried to recruit M. Marchand. He claimed to be, variously, a “Nato agent”, a confidant of George Bush and to have limitless, mental powers. M. Marchand dismissed his claims as fantasy. He believes Tilly “brain-washed” the De Védrines by playing cleverly on their pride as members of a prominent, Protestant aristocratic family. He persuaded them that previous generations of the De Védrines had always been “called” to act for the forces of good against the forces of evil. He even invented a fictitious role as a wartime resistance hero for the elderly matriarch, Guillemette, but told her children never to discuss it with her.

Another technique used by Tilly, M. Marchand says, was to convince his wife and brothers-in-law that he could make them very rich, then persuaded them that they were in imminent, mortal danger from “evil forces” (including M. Marchand). If they pursued their normal lives, they would be killed instantly.

What were the De Védrines doing for all those years when they were locked in the family chateau, now sold? “Nothing. That is the tragedy,” said M. Marchand. “My brother-in-law Philippe, told me that they were doing absolutely nothing. Most heartbreakingly of all, he says that my daughter Guillemette used to have moments of lucidity. She would say, ‘The best years of my life are being thrown away’. All the same, she remained, somehow, under Tilly’s spell.”

The Independent tried to contact Charles-Henri de Védrines and one of his sons, who work for The Oxford Garden Company. The company said they declined to speak to the press “for the time being”. But Charles-Henri did say: “The truth will come out eventually, then the world will see.”

in theindependent

Luzech – Les Templiers à la médiathèque

Posted on Updated on

luz

La médiathèque de Luzech vous invite samedi à écouter François Thiollet sur les Templiers. Le sujet est si vaste que trois séances seront nécessaires pour comprendre au mieux cet ordre religieux militaire.

Le Temple est né des croisades avec pour missions de protéger les pèlerins en route pour les lieux saints et de défendre les états latins issus de la croisade. Un réseau sans faille en Occident était alors nécessaire pour atteindre ces objectifs. Les Templiers sont aussi des gestionnaires, afin d’entretenir les grandes forteresses. Mais pas seulement, ils sont aussi des cultivateurs, des banquiers tout en étant des soldats. Ils sont les inventeurs d’une organisation très hiérarchisée. Les Templiers assumeront leur mission jusqu’au bout au Moyen-Orient, au prix de milliers de morts… tout en entraînant leur propre chute.

Pour découvrir ou l’épopée des Templiers, rendez-vous samedi à 15 h 30.

in Ladepeche.fr

Villefranche. Sur les traces du vin des templiers

Posted on Updated on

200905301707_zoom

Ce mardi matin, en faisant le tour de ses vignes, elle était plutôt dépitée. La grêle, épée de Damoclès de tous les vignerons, venait de cingler les branches fragiles des ceps se dressant sur le causse de Martiel. Pas de quoi, cpendant, abattre Sandra Lemoine qui, depuis quelques années, réimplante la vigne sur les terroirs où il y a des lustres, les templiers avaient su la faire mûrir. « On verra pour la récolte 2009 », lâchait-elle fataliste en milieu de semaine. D’autant que si dégâts il y a, ceux-ci n’ont rien de commun subis dans le Bordelais. Certains ne pourront même pas vendanger cet automne. Cela fait, malheureusement partie, des risques du métier. Et, elle le sait.

Installée en 2003, sur des terrains proches de Martiel, Sandra Lemoine a planté depuis 3 ha de vignes du côté du Juge et de Lespinassière, sur des coteaux exposés de manière à optimiser l’apport de soleil au raisin. Ici, la rocaille affleure. « C’est bon pour la vigne, car un sol trop riche ne lui convient pas. Et lorsqu’elle souffre, cela se voit car elle donne de meilleurs fruits ». Venue dans le métier par passion pour le vin, elle raconte ses parcelles et les cépages qui y prospèrent avec des mots teintés d’affection. Après avoir picoré des conseils auprès de vignerons comme Jean-Luc Matha, de Marcillac, ou de son confrère du domaine de Labarthe dans le Gaillacois, la vigneronne du causse vole de ses propres ailes. En alchimiste des arômes, elle marie syrah, cabernet-sauvignon, cabernet-franc, merlot et chardonnay pour délivrer aux papilles un rouge et un rosé singuliers. « Ce n’est ni du cahors, ni du marcillac, c’est du vin de pays de Martiel », tranche-t-elle.

Ménager la vigne
Un vin qui naît de la terre au terme d’un long et délicat processus. Car, ici, tout le travail s’effectue à la main. « En ne mécanisant pas, on ménage la vigne ».

De l’effeuillage- « très important car en aérant bien la grappe on évite les maladies et on favorise la maturité »- à la vendange, les différentes étapes dépendent des seuls doigts de la vigneronne et de ses aides. Un état d’esprit proche de la nature que l’on retrouve aussi dans les traitements, seul volet mécanisé. « Pour l’instant je suis en agriculture raisonnée, mais en phase bio, car si je n’ai pas encore effectué de reconversion officielle, je n’utilise que du soufre et du cuivre, et je bannis les traitements de synthèse », explique-t-elle. Une démarche portée comme un engagement pour l’avenir lorsqu’elle défend : « Je crois qu’il faut arrêter de jouer avec le feu ».

Après le rouge et le rosé, Sandra Lemoine s’apprête à récolter sa première vendange de Chardonnay. « Elle sera modeste, sourit-elle, mais comme dans nos secteurs, on produit peu de blanc, j’envisage, avec les quelques droits de plantation qu’il me reste de développer cette production pour laquelle existe une demande ». De bien belles promesses gustatives. Elle mesure déjà, grâce à ses tanins, la densité du potentiel de son vin rouge. Elle sait aussi combien, en insistant sur la longueur d’élevage, le goût peut subir des modifications. Sauf que dans ce domaine, elle avance à pas feutrés en se refusant de jouer aux apprentis sorciers. « En tant que professionnel, nous avons des préférences, mais c’est le consommateur qui décide ». Un consommateur qu’elle capte par la vente directe, avec la même logique accompagnant l’ensemble de sa démarche.

in La Depeche

Flaran : l’abbaye qui défie le temps

Posted on Updated on

1488

Par un de ces miracles qu’il ne convient pas d’expliquer mais de constater, la Révolution française chassa les moines mais préserva les bâtiments. Aussi, pour les spécialistes de l’architecture cistercienne, le cloître, l’église et la salle capitulaire sont parmi les mieux conservés d’Europe. C’est également un des plus riches complexes d’art cistercien. Historiquement Flaran aurait été un rempart du christianisme.

A cette époque où l’on navigue la Baïse, le site est un carrefour de communications. Marchands, pèlerins en route vers Saint Jacques, colporteurs mais aussi probablement quelques prédicateurs cathares. La Gascogne est accueillante et bavarde. Il convenait peut-être de remettre un peu d’ordre dans toutes ces théories. Pour frapper les esprits, les moines construisirent Flaran.

Aujourd’hui on peut découvrir, un cloître de bonnes dimensions, au cœur d’une abbaye qui s’articule tout autour. Un réfectoire immense, un dortoir des moines unique en son genre, une salle capitulaire impressionnante et une chapelle aux dimensions de petites cathédrales… Flaran est comme étrangère au temps qui passe. Une architecture qui en fait un véritable hymne à la pierre né de l’harmonie qu’ont su dégager des architectes de génie. Une rose dans le jardin de Gascogne. Une harmonie, véritable chant de la pierre au beau que cette abbaye cistercienne.

On se perd en conjoncture sur la nécessité de son implantation, au pied de la bastide de Valence-sur-Baïse, au bord de cette rivière, véritable ouverture du pays sur le monde.

Car il fallut, en 1151, quand elle fut fondée, que tout le monde s’y mette pour faire naître l’abbaye. Les comtes du Fezensac fournirent les terres… l’Eglise dut aller chercher les moines à l’abbaye d’Escaladieu dans les Hautes-Pyrénées, il fallut lever quelques dîmes supplémentaires. Les gens d’Eglise étaient pourtant très bien implantés dans ce secteur avec le très riche évêché de Condom. Mais elle pensait devoir renforcer son implantation.

Les petits secrets de l’abbaye
Texte mais surtout, en 1569, les destructions commises par les troupes de Montgomery laissèrent de gros dégâts sur l’ensemble des bâtiments. On pense qu’une partie aurait pu être incendiée. Vendue après la révolution elle servit de bâtiments agricoles à une riche exploitation.

Le dortoir des moines. Aujourd’hui en cous de restauration pour abriter une exposition de peinture contemporaine, le dortoir des moines date du XIIIe siècle et a toujours conservé ses fenêtres romanes. Une partie était divisée en cellules avec des fenêtres à meneaux. Une galerie conduisait au logis abbatial et à une cellule plus riche que les autres que l’on suppose être celle du prieur.

Le jardin des moines. Comme tous les monastères ou abbaye Flaran avait son jardin de plantes médicinales et aromatiques, les simples. Il a été reconstitué à Flaran, en 1987. Historiens, architectes et horticulteurs se sont concertés pour tenter de s’approcher au plus près de la réalité du Moyen Age. Le jardin a été reconstitué selon le plan le plus simple et le plus répandu à cette époque. Une quinzaine d’essences différentes sont présentes dans le jardin, camomille, marjolaine, mais aussi sarriette et romarin.

Reliquaire. Certains ont aussi parlé de ce site comme d’un reliquaire d’art avec ce musée unique en France, des pèlerinages de Saint Jacques de Compostelle. Les très riches chapiteaux du cloître sont à eux seuls le plus merveilleux livre de l’histoire religieuse des moines de Saint Bernard et des dernières années de l’ordre des templiers.

Mosaïque gallo-romaine. Pour la construction de leur abbaye, les moines cisterciens ont récupéré des restes mis en valeurs d’une villa gallo-romaine avec de très belles colonnes de marbre.

in Ladepeche.fr

Figeac. Place Champollion : du XIIe au XXIe siècle

Posted on Updated on

200906280879_zoom

Drôle de destin que celui de la place Champollion. Au XIVe siècle, après un agrandissement, elle s’appelait place de l’Avoine. Par la suite, elle deviendra la place des Menus Grains, la place des Châtaignes et, à partir du XVIIe siècle, elle se nommera la Place Haute.

Il faut savoir qu’au XIIIe siècle, avec la place du Froment (aujourd’hui la Halle), elle constituait un lieu central de la ville de Figeac, s’ouvrant sur la voie de l’Auvergne. Au XIVe siècle, elle accueillait la halle aux bouchers « Le Mazel », en lieu et place de l’actuel Café Champollion. L’activité bouchère y prospérera d’ailleurs jusqu’à la Révolution. Le « Mazel » fermait la rue Baduel. Sur un côté, se trouvait une maison du XIVe siècle, réaménagée, où se situe aujourd’hui le restaurant « Le Cinq ». Dans cette maison, au temps des Templiers, était créé un hospice en faveur des pèlerins qui arrivaient souvent malades et où beaucoup mouraient. Ce bâtiment communiquait à l’intérieur avec les écuries et la chapelle du XIIIe siècle, situées dans l’actuelle rue du Consulat (au n° 11). À l’Est, une maison du XIIe siècle agrandie, qu’on a longtemps nommé « La maison Gleye ». Ensuite, après la rue Émile-Zola, nous avions « La maison Cahuzac », du XIXe et XXe siècles, réaménagée, avec en sous-sol des arcades médiévales.

La rue Boutaric ouvrait sur la « Maison Peyrières » et « Le Griffon », qui date, lui, du troisième quart du XIIe siècle. C’est la plus vieille maison que l’on puisse dater de la ville de Figeac. Sur cette maison du Griffon, au rez-de-chaussée commercial, on distinguait des baies triples à l’étage et un pan en bois (aujourd’hui disparu). Elle présentait, sur sa façade, des sculptures de figures humaines, d’animaux mythiques et de feuillages.

Coté Ouest de la place, on voyait le musée Champollion, rez-de-chaussée du XIIIe et étage du XVIIIe siècles, avec des peintures murales visibles dans l’escalier datées du XVe siècle.

À partir du XIVe siècle, le fond de la place ne changea plus, mais garda son rôle de place centrale. En 1974, sur cette place, a été dressé l’Arbre de la liberté, qui disparaîtra rapidement car il fut scié une nuit.

La place s’appela aussi la Place aux Armes et, suite à la rébellion du canton de Fons, trois personnes y furent guillotinées.

De nos jours, la place Champollion occupe toujours un poste important dans la vie de Figeac. Sur le plan touristique, l’entrée du Musée Champollion se trouve sur cette place et les clés pour la visite de Figeac amènent le visiteur en ce lieu. Plusieurs commerces sont installés en ce lieu afin d’offrir aux touristes le meilleur accueil.

Merci à Maurice Borie et à Didier Bufaro pour leur aide dans les recherches.
in Ladepeche.fr

Cahors : deux fois millénaire

Posted on Updated on

pont_vilentre

Partez à la découverte de Cahors, ville deux fois millénaire, ceinturée par la rivière Lot. Entourée d’un cirque naturel fait de collines abruptes, le chef-lieu du département du Lot, compte 21 000 habitants. C’est une ville à taille humaine où patrimoine et bien-vivre sont étroitement liés.

A chaque coin de rue l’histoire est présente : Pont Valentré, cathédrale Saint-Etienne, maisons médiévales, portes sculptées du XVIIe siècle, immeubles néo-classiques, jusque sous les allées Fénelon et parking souterrain où les vestiges d’un amphithéâtre romain ont été mis en valeur ce qui confirme que Divona Cadurcorum fut une ville opulente au début de notre ère.

Cahors est aussi, depuis longtemps, une capitale gastronomique, avec son fameux « vin noir » (pur Malbec) célébré depuis l’Antiquité, qui compte aujourd’hui plus de 250 appellations. Pays du « gras » agrémenté de la truffe, Cahors et son pays valorisent de nombreuses productions qualitatives comme l’agneau fermier, le melon du Quercy, le Rocamadour, le safran, le tout mis en scène par des chefs talentueux.

Le boulevard Gambetta et ses terrasses, typiquement méridionales, s’égaient de nombreux commerces et terrasses de café, où s’attardent touristes et Cadurciens. La ville ancienne fait l’objet d’une véritable renaissance, au fil des découvertes et des réhabilitations, faisant d’elle un véritable conservatoire de la maison médiévale du Midi. Une scène conventionnée, deux salles de spectacle, deux cinémas d’art et d’essai, un riche programme de visites commentées, l’un des plus beaux marchés de France… bref cette ville est authentique et attachante.

Quant aux fleurs, il y en a partout : elles dégringolent des façades, bordent les terrasses de café, colorent les rues et les ponts, occupent, dans les vieux quartiers, des espaces longtemps délaissés, mettent en valeur nos monuments. Cette qualité de fleurissement a valu à Cahors une reconnaissance internationale, avec la médaille d’or du Concours européen de fleurissement, et nationale, Cahors se voyant attribuer le label « Jardin Remarquable » par le Ministère de la Culture.

La ville antique
La résurgence dite « Fontaine des Chartreux » peut être considérée comme le berceau de Cahors : le site est sans doute un lieu de culte dès l’époque préhistorique. Plus tard, les Cadourques, peuplade gauloise occupant ce territoire, vont y faire leurs dévotions à la déesse Divona.
Au début de notre ère, les Romains fondent une ville à l’intérieur du méandre : « Divona Cadurcorum ». Organisée selon un plan régulier, elle révèle les traces de son opulence : théâtre, temple circulaire, grands thermes publics, mosaïques, et, tout récemment, amphithéâtre. La richesse de la ville antique provient sans doute de son emplacement au croisement de voies de communication, du commerce du vin et de la toile de lin et d’une importante activité agricole et artisanale.

L’âge d’or médiéval
En dehors de l’épiscopat de saint Didier au VIIe s, le haut Moyen Age est mal connu à Cahors. L’âge d’or de la ville médiévale s’étend du XIIe au XIVe s : le pouvoir de l’évêque-comte est progressivement concurrencé par celui des « Cahorsins », grandes familles de marchands-usuriers. Cahors est aussi animée par une importante activité artisanale et son statut

d’étape dans le pèlerinage de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. La ville, resserrée à l’est de la presqu’île, se voit reconstruite à neuf, de même que la cathédrale et les dix églises paroissiales. La partie ouest accueille pour sa part les congrégations et leurs jardins. Vers 1345 les remparts existants sont doublés, une nouvelle barrière défensive est réalisée au nord (ponctuée de 11 tours carrées et de 2 tours portes) refermant le méandre de la rivière. Trois ponts la franchissent : le plus ancien, le « Pont Vieux » avec ses cinq tours de défense, assurait les liaisons nord-sud. Il fut complété par le « Pont Neuf » (1291) à l’est, puis par le « Pont Valentré » à l’ouest. Ce dernier offre aujourd’hui, avec ses trois tours fortifiées et ses six arches précédées de becs aigus, un exemple exceptionnel de l’architecture de défense médiéval. La lenteur du chantier, (débuté en 1308, achevé entre 1355 et 1378) donna naissance à la légende du Diable : « L’architecte du Pont, las de trop de lenteurs, avait engagé son âme au diable en échange de son aide. L’œuvre pratiquement achevée, il eut l’idée, pour se libérer de son pacte, de berner le diable en lui confiant un crible pour transporter l’eau nécessaire aux ouvriers. A titre de représailles, le diable arracha chaque nuit la dernière pierre de la tour centrale, remise en place la veille par les maçons ». Lors de la restauration du Pont en 1879 par l’architecte Paul Gout, un petit diable fut sculpté au sommet de la tour centrale pour en rappeler la légende.

La Cathédrale résulte de différentes campagnes de construction échelonnées du XIe au XVIIe siècle dont les restaurations du XIXe siècle ont accentué la disparité. La nef (1120) appartient à l’édifice roman commencé en 1112. Elle est composée de deux travées carrées couvertes par deux coupoles sur pendentifs de 16 m. d’envergure. Le portail Nord (1150) s’apparente aux grands ensembles romans de Moissac, Beaulieu, Souillac, L’abside commencée au XIIe s., fut reconstruite entre 1285 et 1293. Ce nouveau chœur gothique pourrait appartenir aux œuvres majeures du gothique méridional attribuées à Jean Deschamps. Entre 1308 et 1316, le massif occidental fut érigé apportant une nouvelle façade à l’édifice ; grâce aux destructions des maisons qui enserraient l’édifice un nouveau parvis fut aménagé (place Chapou). Dès les XVe et XVIe s. on note divers aménagements intérieurs (chapelles) ainsi que la construction du cloître, entrepris vers 1506, qui offre un bel exemple de gothique flamboyant. Au début du XIVe s, le Cadurcien Jacques Duèze, devenu pape sous le nom de Jean XXII, fonde une université. La Guerre de Cent ans met un terme à cette époque de prospérité.

De la Renaissance à la Révolution
Au XVIe s naissent à Cahors les poètes Clément Marot et Olivier de Magny. L’université et les collèges suscitent une importante activité intellectuelle, soutenue par des imprimeurs dynamiques. Peu touchée par la Réforme, Cahors est envahie en 1580 par les troupes de Henri de Navarre.

Au XVIIe siècle, la ville est dynamisée par l’installation éphémère du tribunal fiscal de la Cour des Aides. L’université accueille notamment François de Salignac de Lamothe-Fénelon, dit « Fénelon », qui deviendra le célèbre homme d’Eglise, philosophe et poète. Tandis que s’installe à Cahors le collège des Jésuites, l’évêque Alain de Solminihac crée le Grand Séminaire et favorise l’installation de nouvelles congrégations. Magistrats, professeurs et notaires réaménagent au goût du jour leurs demeures médiévales en les dotant notamment de portes richement sculptées. Le XVIIIe s n’apporte pas de notables changements dans l’urbanisme de Cahors qui, après la suppression de l’Université en 1751, voit son activité intellectuelle péricliter.

La ville accueille avec enthousiasme et modération les idées nouvelles de la Révolution, qui n’occasionnera pas à Cahors de dommages importants.

La ville du XIXe s
Depuis 1790, Cahors est le chef-lieu du département du Lot, dont le premier tracé se voit amputé de sa partie sud en 1808, lors de la création du département du Tarn et Garonne. La première moitié du siècle voit l’apogée du transport de marchandises sur le Lot. Depuis longtemps Cahors tire en effet de sa situation au bord de la rivière d’appréciables avantages. Dans la seconde moitié du siècle, époque de grande prospérité agricole, l’arrivée du chemin de fer en 1869 permet de fournir de nouveaux débouchés à son vin, bu dans toutes les grandes cours d’Europe, et concurrence progressivement la voie d’eau.
De nouvelles percées est-ouest ouvrent la ville ancienne sur le boulevard, le long duquel se concentrent la vie sociale, les administrations et les loisirs. Sur la partie ouest de la presqu’île, l’arrivée du chemin de fer et le parcellaire très lâche laissé par les anciennes congrégations accélèrent la création ou le réaménagement d’axes, le long desquels s’implantent bâtiments ferroviaires ou industriels, hôtels cossus aux styles variés, administrations, banques et équipements hygiénistes. L’approvisionnement de la ville en eau potable est résolu par la construction de la station de pompage de Cabazat, qui répartit dans la ville les eaux pompées dans la Fontaine des Chartreux.
Cette époque voit aussi la naissance à Cahors de Léon Gambetta, père de la Troisième République, dont la statue orne l’entrée des Allées Fénelon.

Cahors contemporaine
Vers 1900, les populations les plus aisées bâtissent des villas dans la partie ouest de la presqu’île et le long des accès nord et sud de la ville. On y remarque un décor soigné, de nouveaux aménagements intérieurs et un rapport plus étroit avec le jardin. L’Entre-Deux-Guerres ne remet pas en cause la voirie existante mais de nouveaux logements apparaissent, pavillonnaires (rue Victor Hugo, Cabessut…) ou populaires (rue du Groupe Veny : habitat groupé).
Les années 1960 et 1970 voient l’apparition de nouveaux quartiers périphériques, qui sont soit essentiellement pavillonnaires, comme Saint-Namphaise, soit d’avantage marqué par l’habitat collectif tel Sainte Valérie, la Croix de Fer ou Terre Rouge.

Cabazat
A 50 mètres du pont Valentré, l’ancienne station de pompage de Cabazat est l’un des monuments marquant de l’histoire de Cahors. La ville de Cahors, en réhabilitant cet édifice, a tenu tout d’abord à rendre aux habitants un des monuments emblématiques de leur cité. La nécessité d’apporter une information sur la ville et son territoire aux nombreux visiteurs venus admirer le pont en a constitué la seconde motivation. Aujourd’hui réhabilitée, l’ancienne station de pompage de Cabazat constitue désormais une nouvelle vitrine. Espace d’information et de découverte, elle offre un aperçu des différents sites et spécificités à découvrir tant dans la ville qu’à l’échelle du proche territoire, entre Basse vallée du Lot et Quercy blanc.

Cahors côté jardins
Cahors, la belle médiévale, offre à ses habitants et visiteurs la richesse de ses parcs et jardins. A Cahors, le fleurissement est un véritable art de vivre et de séduire. Cette créativité est maintes fois reconnue aux niveaux national et international. Cahors s’enrichit chaque année de nouveaux jardins, et fait des émules en France et en Europe. Récompensés par l’attribution du label « Jardin Remarquable » par le minis-tère de la Culture, les Jardins Secrets sont ainsi devenus de véritables ambassadeurs de la Ville. Témoins d’une histoire plusieurs fois séculaire, les Jardins Secrets sont rapidement apparus comme une manière très originale de traiter les espaces verts urbains dans le monde de l’horticulture française. Installés dans la partie ancienne de la ville et au pied du pont Valentré, ils valorisent une histoire et un patrimoine particulièrement riches. Conquérant des espaces en friche, peu entretenus ou laissés à l’abandon, ils permettent au public de découvrir les plantes cultivées au Moyen âge, tout en offrant une approche très contemporaine de la mise en valeur des espaces verts. Ils créent un parcours associé au patrimoine de la ville balisé de clous de bronze poli, gravés d’une feuille d’acanthe qui vous entraîne au cœur de la ville. Laissez-vous guider, laissez-vous charmer…

Arcambal est issu d’un prénom du Moyen-âge, Archambaut ou Archimbaud, porté par une lignée de comtes de la 1ère maison de Bourbon qui avait leur fief principal dans ce site. Arcambal, site paléolithique, fut habité pendant la période de la Tène, comme l’ont montré les fouilles menées au Tréboulou.

Le château du Bousquet, rasé en 1374 pendant la guerre de Cent ans, fut reconstruit entièrement au début du XVe siècle, puis remanié au XVIIe. Cette pittoresque construction se dresse sur une croupe de terrain non loin du Lot et ses murs flanqués de tours présentent une rigueur toute militaire. Les transformations les plus importantes datent du XVIIe siècle : une jolie terrasse à balustres Louis XIII sur la vallée du Lot et la cour d’honneur. Une des galeries de cette cour est construite en pierres de taille, l’autre en briques. On accède à cette cour par une porte en fer forgé du XVIIe siècle.

Mercuès fut la résidence favorite des comtes-évêques de Cahors. Ceux-ci construisirent d’abord, au XIVe siècle, une agréable maison des champs – en fait, une forteresse – sur les falaises qui dominent le Lot en aval de Cahors. On y jouit d’un admirable panorama sur la vallée. La bastide qui se développe à l’Ouest du château fut créée dès le XIIe siècle.

Pendant la guerre de Cent ans, en 1426, le château fut pris et occupé pendant deux ans par le captal de Buch, soumis au roi d’Angleterre par suite du ralliement à sa cause du baron de Durfort-Boissières. Il finit démantelé. Racheté par les consuls de Cahors et restauré, il est saccagé à nouveau durant les guerres de Religion : pris une première fois par les calvinistes sous les ordres de Duras, en 1563, il sera repris en 1568 et incendié.

Au XVIIe siècle, Monseigneur Habert, évêque de Cahors, le releva et y créa la terrasse et les jardins que l’on admire encore aujourd’hui. Monseigneur Le Jay et Monseigneur Briqueville de la Luzerne, qui édifièrent le palais épiscopal de Cahors, s’intéressèrent également à la demeure. Les derniers travaux datent de la fin du XIXe siècle et furent réalisés par un élève de Viollet-le-Duc. Le château resta dans les mains des évêques de Cahors jusqu’à la séparation des Eglises et de l’Etat, en 1905. Il abrite désormais un très bel hôtel.

Lamagdelaine. La commune tire son nom de Marie-Madelaine, la grande péche-resse de l’Evangile. Lamagdelaine, où l’on découvre les signes d’une présence romaine, et l’aqueduc souterrain gallo-romain de la Font-Polémie, s’appelait autrefois Saint-Pierre de Floirac.

Ses seigneurs étaient les Gourdon, branche de Laroque mais le collège universitaire Pélegri de Cahors y possédait également des biens. Lamagdelaine ne fut érigée en commune qu’en 1875, par distraction du territoire de Laroque-des-Arcs. La ville compte de jolies maisons quercynoises et possède un four banal à Savanac, village autrefois célèbre par ses vins clairets. L’église rebâtie en 1889, de style néo-roman, est une ancienne annexe de Laroque-des-Arcs, dépendant du chapitre de la cathédrale.

Le Montat et plus précisément la Castagnère révèlent la présence d’un habitat gallo-romain. Vers 1090, Géraud II, évêque de Cahors, affecte l’église de Saint-Pierre du Montat à l’entretien des chanoines de la cathédrale. Le Chapitre de Cahors fut dès lors le seigneur direct du lieu. L’église, de style roman, possède une abside voûtée en cul-de-four, une coupole sur trompes à la croisée du transept et une nef flanquée de collatéraux datant du XIXe siècle.

La légende attribue le bâtiment jouxtant l’église aux Templiers puis aux Hospitaliers, mais, comme le rappellent les historiens, Montat n’est jamais cité dans leurs archives.

La commune de Labastide-Marnhac se situe sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle et possède plusieurs maisons-fortes : le château de Labastide-Marnhac, attesté dès le XIIe siècle, ainsi que les repaires de Saint-Rémy et de Salgues. Son église a été remaniée au XIXe. Elle possède encensoir, calice et patène.

L’église Saint-Clair construite à la fin du XVe siècle de Fontanes, les églises de Trespoux, l’église Saint-Martial de Pradines, l’oratoire d’Espère sont également à découvrir.

Caillac se situe à une dizaine de kilomètres de Cahors sur les rives du Lot. Sa topologie valonnée et son ensoleillement ont favorisé l’industrie viticole, qui est la principale activité de la commune. Les premières traces d’occupation à Caillac sont gallo-romaines. Il existait à l’époque un domaine agricole. D’autres vestiges parsèment sa surface et témoignent d’une occupation principalement agricole de la commune. Jusqu’au vingtième siècle, Caillac était réputée pour la culture de la fraise. Petit à petit, cette culture a été remplacée par celle de la vigne. Caillac possède une église romane et un château, le Château Lagrézette, édifié à la renaissance, situé au milieu d’un domaine viticole et propriété d’un industriel français célèbre. Depuis 2006, un lac artificiel a été construit en centre ville pour développer l’activité de pêche de loisir.

Cieurac, pays de landes et de forêts de chênes, situé sur les premiers reliefs des causses à 247 mètres d’altitude, surplombant la vallée du Lot et la commune de Cahors, semble avoir été habité de tout temps. Les traces de dolmens témoignent de l’installation durable d’une population en ces lieux. Le village de Cieurac s’étend sur une superficie totale de 19 km2. Il est une étape sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle dès l’an 813 de Conques à Cahors. Ce sentier est inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité par l’UNESCO depuis 1998. Au Moyen Age, le château de Pauliac et le domaine de Haute Serre, sont propriété de l’abbaye cister-cienne de Lagarde Dieu. Ces biens seront affaiblis par les guerres de religion. Au XIXe siècle le vignoble de Haute Serre est touché par l’épidémie de Phylloxéra ; il est redevenu, depuis 1975, l’une des plus importantes exploitations agricoles de vin de Cahors.

L’église Saint-Pierre-es-Liens est édifiée au XVe siècle et remaniée plusieurs fois.

Le petit patrimoine est important (four banal, fontaines, lavoirs, puits, croix en pierres) et demeure le témoignage de la vie rurale quotidienne, il est entretenu et sauvegardé.

Le château de Cieurac fut racheté aux Anglais par les consuls de Cahors en 1358.

Le seigneur de Cieurac, de la famille de Cardaillac-Lapopie, y résida à partir du XVe siècle.

En 1790, le château appartenait à Pierre-Jacques de Godailh, chevalier, marquis de Cieurac, maire de Montauban. A la Révolution, il est pillé et la chapelle gothique détruite.

Ce château Renaissance est classé monument historique ainsi que son moulin en 1937.

Entièrement restauré, il est ouvert au public depuis 1987.

 

in Ladepeche.fr

Les Templiers crèvent l’écran

Posted on Updated on

tem

Les associations Fondation Hugues de Payns et Maizières-Studio ont réalisé cet été un documentaire-fiction sur la vie d’Hugues de Payns et l’histoire des Templiers. Le tournage a eu lieu du 5 au 25 juillet dans la région de Payns ainsi qu’à Bar-sur-Aube, Rosnay-l’Hôpital, Coulommiers et Provins. Quatre-vingt figurants, dix chevaux et plus d’une centaine de costumes ont été nécessaires. L’acteur Christian Brendel a enregistré la voix off qui accompagnera les spectateurs tout au long du film. L’avant-première aura lieu samedi 19 septembre dans le cadre des Journées du patrimoine (salle des fêtes de Payns à 19 h, 4 €). Elle sera suivie à 20 h 30 d’une conférence gratuite exceptionnelle « Orient-Occident : le réseau templier » animée par Alain Demurger, maître de conférence honoraire à Paris I, le plus grand spécialiste français de l’ordre du Temple. Par la suite, ce documentaire-fiction sera projeté tout le long de l’année, dans le nouveau musée des Templiers qui ouvrira ses portes en septembre.

Monflanquin. Journées médiévales: «L’Orient et l’Occident, le retour des Templiers»

Posted on Updated on

200908110012_zoom

La bastide monflanquinoise a à peine rangé les pupitres des musiciens qu’elle se tourne totalement vers la période médiévale pour ses journées historiques tellement réputées. Ce sera les 15 et 16 août avec pas moins d’une vingtaine d’intervenants, troupes d’animation médiévale, artisans, personnages « d’époque », estaminets, marché du Croissant et autres. Les rues seront animées à la manière d’antan : musique, saynètes, marché et camp médiévaux, parades, banquet, contes, bataille… Vendredi 14 août : 21 heures en l’église concert aux couleurs du Moyen-Âge et à 23 heures places Artsd Pablos médiéval . Samedi 15 août 11 heures parade avec les acteurs des Médiévales, 12 heures ouverture du camp sur la Cap del Pech place de l’église avec animations permanentes, tente de Nasrédine, bataille des Templiers, à 12 h 30 grande parade et à 21 heures banquet médiéval animé avec entres autres numéros un spectacle de feu (20 euros par adulte avec vin, 12 euros enfants -de 12 ans) participation costumée souhaitée ! (location de costumes possible toute la journée auprès du GEM salle d’Aquitaine adulte 25 euros et enfants 15 euros). Au menu : pâté de canard à la sauge, poulet aux pruneaux champignons sautés aux épices, tourte aux pommes. Réservation obligatoire tel.05 53 36 40 19 et 05 53 71 18 85. Dimanche 16 août 10 heures parade et animations de rue, 11 heures ouverture du camp d’Orient, 14 heures, 15 h 45 et 18 h 13 contes du Sultant, 16 heures et 18 heures bataille des Blancs Manteaux, 19 heures honneur aux armes, 21 h 30 grande parade finale avec toutes les compagnies costumées, 23 heures spectacle de feu place des Arcades. Bien évidemment Janouille sera de la fête et fera visiter la bastide à 16 heures, départ devant l’office de tourisme.

La Camargue

Posted on Updated on

camargue1

Spreading across the triangle formed by the two branches of the Rhône and the Mediterranean, the 360-square-mile Camargue delta is for the most part a lonely barren plain of rough pasture, grazed by black bulls and white horses, and salty wetlands inhabited by a diverse community of waterfowl, the most famous of which are pink flamingos-although the first time I spotted them, they were disappointingly white. When a local resident explained that they must have found no shrimp for breakfast, I thought he was joking, but it turns out that they do indeed get their color from the carotene contained in crustaceans and algae-a rosy sign of good health that makes them seductive to the opposite sex.

With Albert Lamorisse’s award-winning 1953 film Crin Blanc (White Mane) on my mind, I was equally surprised that the Camargue horses, too, shift color, from dark brown to white, at the age of five or six. The renowned Camarguais bulls, though, are always dark, with lyre-shaped horns. Both the herds of bulls and the ranches on which they are raised are known as manades, and the ranchers are called manadiers; the cowboys on horseback that tend them are the gardians. And in an odd quirk of local language, both male and female animals are referred to as taureaux, or bulls.

Grazing in the wild, the bulls yield excellent meat, but they are bred primarily for the courses camarguaises, highly-coded bullfights consisting of six 15-minute rounds, each with a different bull, punctuated by the sounding of trumpets at specific moments and ending with the overture from Carmen. The job of the several white-clad bullfighters-les raseteurs-is to remove la cocarde-a rosette or other decoration-from between the horns of the bull, le cocardier. The raseteurs make flying leaps into the stands as the bull charges them, and occasionally the bull lunges into the stands too, to wild applause from the audience. Usually neither bull nor raseteurs get harmed, but for the bullfighters it can be a dangerous business, demanding agility, speed and nerve. The week before my visit, a raseteur was dispatched to hospital with pierced lungs and liver, another with a chunk of his buttock torn off.

This Provençal version of the Wild West, with its cattle ranches and gardian cowboys, is barely a century old, the brainchild of a Camargue resident, the Marquis Folco de Baroncelli de Javon (1869-1943), an eccentric aristocrat who was dazzled by Buffalo Bill’s Wild West show and invited him and his entire troupe to visit the Camargue. It must have been an outlandish spectacle to have genuine Sioux Indians in their traditional attire camp around Baroncelli’s mas-a large Provençal farmhouse-but one result of the cross-cultural exchange was a long-lasting epistolary friendship between Baroncelli and Jacob White Eyes, a Dakota Sioux. Their correspondence led to the Frenchman’s idea of reviving the Camargue’s traditions, which had declined in the wake of the French Revolution.

By turning the ordinary farmers and livestock breeders into Camargue-style cowboys, Baroncelli helped regenerate the local economy and created a new cultural lifestyle that, over the years, has gained the status of an age-old heritage, although it was initially a fabrication. When Baroncelli died in 1943 he was a ruined man, having dedicated his life and fortune to the promotion of Provençal culture. His Mas du Simbèu was destroyed by the Germans in 1944, but he would have probably been pleased to know that when his remains were transferred in 1951 to its site, outside Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, the bulls of his manade are said to have gathered spontaneously and followed the procession. Two of his granddaughters still live on a nearby mas.

camargue3

Paul Ricard (1909-1997) was another of the Camargue’s pioneering visionaries. In 1939, by which time his future empire of “real Marseille pastis” was well under way, he bought a sprawling estate with a farmhouse, a former medieval domain of the Knights Templar-a Templar cross still stands on the site today. Called Méjanès (meaning halfway), it was situated midway between the two branches of the Rhône. There he intended to grow the licorice, fennel and mint that go into the iconic drink of Provence, but the war, and the Vichy government’s ban on spirits the following year, forced him into alternative planning. Since he couldn’t sell alcohol, he would use Méjanès to breed cattle for both milk and meat. But one way or another, the land was a salty wasteland and would need an irrigation system. The Knights Templar had been faced with the same challenge.

Ricard was also among the early pioneers of the Camargue rice industry, which now supplies 25 to 30 percent of the home market. He may have picked up on Henri IV’s idea to introduce the staple to the Camargue-in Henri’s case, they say it was to complement his favorite dish, poule au pot, although Ricard intended it principally as a means to desalinate the soil. The French associate Ricard’s name with the famous anise-flavored pastis he created in 1932, mostly unaware that, if Parmentier taught their ancestors to eat potatoes, Paul Ricard was instrumental in teaching them to eat rice. (An early ecologist and an enlightened employer, he also established an oceanographic institute, an arts foundation and a car-racing track.) A quarter of the 1,500-acre Ricard estate is still allocated to rice farming using “green” methods and management; one-half remains natural breeding pastures and marshes; and the fourth quarter is open to the public, with a bullring, a bar, a restaurant and open space for fêtes and fiestas. There is also a tiny old railway station and a little, rattling train that takes visitors through the estate and along the Etang de Vaccarès, the Camargue’s largest lagoon and a waterfowl paradise.

Ricard’s historic mas, however, is tucked away from the public eye and is now the property of Ricard’s daughter, Michèle. This was where I discovered, from the photos hanging on the walls, that Picasso, Salvador Dalí and the former French president François Mitterrand were among Paul Ricard’s friends. There’s also a recent photo of President Nicolas Sarkozy on horseback-apparently he loves the place and visited both before and after his election.

Denys Colomb de Daunant, who had married another of Folco de Baroncelli’s granddaughters, was also an emblematic figure of the Camargue. Artist, writer and film maker Daunant adapted the screenplay for Crin Blanc (whose 10-year-old hero is also named Folco) and the film was shot on his estate, le Mas de Cacharel, north of Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer. Daunant too dedicated his life to the promotion of the Camargue. Among other things, he established the bullring in Les Saintes-Maries and opened the first inn for equestrian tourism on his ranch, in 1955. The formula has mushroomed since, now often upgraded to three-star and four-star hotels complete with outdoor swimming pools-at the top of the scale is the luxurious hotel and restaurant Le Mas de Peint, farther north near Le Sambuc. But Le Mas de Cacharel, standing in the midst of breathtaking scenery of wetlands, remains a cut above most, probably because it is inhabited by the spirit of its founder Daunant and his visitors, among them Hemingway, Picasso and Provençal writer and film maker Marcel Pagnol.

Daunant rests in the cemetery of Les Saintes-Maries, the cradle of Christianity in Western Europe, at least according to one version of the story. This is where, somewhere around the year 40 AD, the three Maries-Madeleine (Mary Magdalene), Jacobé and Salomé-and a variable cast of other early Christians first touched soil after being cast adrift from the Holy Land without sail or oars. Marie Jacobé and Marie Salomé remained where they landed and became the patron saints of the village. Their black Egyptian servant Sara became the patron saint of the gypsies, and her statue is kept in the crypt of the Romanesque village church that they built. (Among the others, Martha is said to have gone inland to Tarascon, Mary Magdalene to the mountain of Sainte-Baume and Lazarus to Marseille.)

Eventually the village became a pilgrim destination for European gypsies, an ongoing tradition that draws thousands of gypsies from all over the Continent for the three-day event, May 24-26, along with huge crowds of spectators who turn up as much for the gypsy music and dancing as for the gypsies’ fervent religious pilgrimage. After Mass on May 24, the statue of Sara is carried in procession all the way into the sea. Anyone with crowd phobia is advised to wait until the 25th, when Marie Jacobé is honored under more manageable circumstances. May 26 is dedicated to the Marquis de Baroncelli, with a commemoration ceremony at his grave followed by bull racing, jousts, dancing and music, all in traditional costumes. For a quieter celebration, opt for the Sunday closest to October 22, the much less publicized and pleasingly genuine feast of Marie Salomé. October is an excellent time to visit the Camargue, too, when it basks in an autumnal glow: temperatures are cooler, mosquitoes are fewer and birds are plentiful as they head for Africa.

camargue2

Discovering the wonders of the Camargue landscape on horseback is a unique experience, but for those who can’t or don’t do horses, a boat ride provides an enjoyable alternative. From Aigues-Mortes, embark on the Saint Louis and enjoy a close, leisurely look at a manade before heading for the fishing village of Le Grau-du-Roi, where Ernest Hemingway spent his honeymoon with his second wife Pauline. From Les Saintes-Maries, try the Tiki III, which provides lots of opportunities for bird watching along the Petit Rhône.

Back on land, head for the nearby Pont de Gau, a bird sanctuary with several miles of nature trails through magnificent scenery. This is also an educational center, enlightening visitors to the workings of the delta and to the fact that the “natural” wilderness here is in effect manipulated, its biodiversity stimulated by a sophisticated management of water levels. Without the human element, the Camargue would revert to a desolate, salty wasteland, good for nothing but the extraction of salt.

Thanks to the shallow water along the seashore, the evaporation stimulated by the intense heat and the frequent winds, salt has been extracted in the Camargue since ancient times. Salt was indispensable for the preservation of foods such as cheese and meat, making it man’s most precious staple for millennia. It was used by the Romans as soldier’s pay (hence, salarium, meaning salary), and made the salt-tax collectors among the richest and most hated men in France in the years leading up to the French Revolution. Today salt is still produced in large basins near Salin-de-Giraud, along the Grand Rhône on the eastern edge of the Camargue, and in the Salins du Midi outside Aigues-Mortes, which you can visit on a fun little train.

Aigues-Mortes was founded in the mid-13th century by Louis IX, Saint Louis, to provide a staging point for his Crusade to reconquer the Holy Land-at the time, with much of Provence still independent, the kingdom of France had no Mediterranean port. Louis built his port on a lagoon, joined it to the sea via a canal and a branch of the Rhône, and offered privileges to attract residents. On August 28, 1248, the king and his fleet of 1,500 ships set sail for Cyprus on an expedition that lasted eight years but failed in its mission. During a second attempt, in 1270, Louis died in Tunisia, and it was his son Philippe le Hardi who, starting in 1272, built the massive walls still intact today.

On the northwest corner, Louis’s imposing royal tower, La Tour Constance, also served as a lighthouse, and later as a notorious prison. Aigues-Mortes remained the most important Mediterranean port in France until Marseille and other parts of Provence were annexed in the late 15th century. Both the Tour Constance and the ramparts are open to visitors. Situated to the west of the delta, Aigues-Mortes is in the Petite Camargue rather than the Camargue proper; the only difference between them is administrative-Aigues-Mortes is in the département of the Gard, while the Camargue is in Bouches-du-Rhône.

Thirza Vallois is the author of Around and About Paris, Romantic Paris, and Aveyron, A Bridge to French Arcadia.

CAMARGUE NOTEBOOK

Domaine Paul Ricard Mas de Méjanès, D37 south of Arles, 04.90.97.10.10. http://www.mejanes.camargue.fr

Hôtel de Cacharel Route de Cacharel, Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 04.90.97.95.44. http://www.hotel-cacharel.com

Le Mas de Peint Le Sambuc 04.90.97.20.62. http://www.masdepeint.com

Hôtel L’Estelle en Camargue Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 04.90.97.89.01. http://www.hotelestelle.com

Le Bateau Saint Louis 14 rue Théaulon, Aigues-Mortes, 04.66.35.06.51

Le Bateau Tiki III Le Plan d’Orgon, Route D38, Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 04.90.97.81.68

Pont de Gau Ornithological Park Route D570, Les Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, 04.90.97.82.62

 

in France Today

The Traveller’s guide to themed walks

Posted on Updated on

qq3

History, ecology, spirituality – whatever your interest, there’s bound to be a walk to suit you. Mick Webb charts the pilgrims’ progress through this varied region

What kind of themes?

Social history, military history, architecture, ecology: the themes of the footpaths in the Midi-Pyrénées are as varied as the countryside they cross. France’s largest region offers the hiker three pilgrimage routes, a path across the Pyrénées in the footsteps of the persecuted Cathars, a trek through the deep gorges cut by the river Aveyron or a circuit on a plateau to explore the legacy of the Knights Templar. For gentle, hilly countryside there’s the Heart of Gascony Tour, while the National Park of the Pyrénées provides more demanding mountain hikes.

Of specifically ecological interest are eight new nature trails through protected areas of the Lot département. These waymarked hikes vary in length down from a week or more to short strolls such as the 4km circuit of the Saut watermill, one of the nature trails outside the village of Rocamadour; visitors’ guides are available from the Lot’s Departmental Tourist Committee (00 33 5 65 35 07 09).

At the other end of the scale, for total immersion in medieval history and Pyrenean landscapes, you might consider the whole of the Chemin des Bonshommes in Ariège. This challenging hike through Cathar territory starts in the town of Foix, takes you briefly across the border into Spain and takes about 12 days to complete.

queribus

Tell me about the Cathars

Catharism was a heretical religious doctrine which became popular in southern France in the 12th century, attracting the wrath of the French crown and the Catholic Church. The bonshommes or “good men”, after whom the path is named were the Cathars’ spiritual leaders and were relentlessly pursued by the Inquisition. Their escape route through mountainous Ariège to the safety of Spain can now be followed at lesser risk by today’s hikers. The first three stages on the French side provide the most vivid introduction to Catharism and the easiest walking.

Starting at the town of Foix, the GR107 takes you across hills wooded with beech to the village of Montségur, whose ruined castle was the scene of a heroic but ultimately tragic attempt by the Cathars to withstand a siege. Beyond Montségur, the path enters the narrow and forbidding Gorges du Frau, before the countryside opens out into Alpine meadows against a backdrop of Pyrenean peaks. For a description of the whole journey to Berguedà see the website chemindesbons hommes.com.

qq4

A route for a reason?

Take a pilgrimage. Or three. So popular did the medieval pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela prove that it crossed the Midi-Pyrénées on three separate “chemins”, en route for Spain. The Chemin du Puy, the Chemin d’Arles and the Chemin du Piémont Pyrénéen can all be walked today and all show ample evidence of the golden age of the pilgrimage, with their chapels, hospitals or simple roadside crosses, although the most recognisable symbol of the pilgrimage is the ubiquitous scallop shell.

The path from Le Puy (GR65) enters the Midi-Pyrénées across the windswept plateau of the Aubrac before making its way in stages between Conques, Figeac and Moissac, some of France’s most attractive towns and villages.

The oldest of the pilgrimage routes, the Chemin d’Arles (GR653), runs across the Mediterranean landscapes in the southern part of the region, calling at Castres, Toulouse and Auch. It’s joined at Oloron-Sainte-Marie by a variant, the Piémont Pyrenéen path, which leads the walker through the Pyrenean foothills of Ariège, Haute Garonne and Hautes-Pyrénées. (The first section of the route is described, in English, on the website, ariege.com/cheminstjacques.) The GR65 is covered by topo-guides 698, 652 and 653, available from French Ramblers’ Association: ffrandonnee.fr; another useful website is chemins-compostelle.com).

qq5

Gentle rambling?

Try Larzac plateau, south of Millau. During the 12th century the Orders of the Knights Templar and the Hospitallers took over vast swathes of the plateau, where sheep farming on the grasslands provided income for their military and religious activities in the Holy Land. Their farms, villages, churches and fortifications are the focal points of two circular hikes, one of six days over 110km on the GR71D, another of four days (82km) on the GR71C. They start from Millau and La Couvertoirade respectively, the latter fully deserving its place among France’s most beautiful villages. Also not to be missed is the Commandery at Sainte-Eulalie, which was the Orders’ centre of operations. For shorter walks (5km to 10 km), rando-fiches (walking cards), are available for €1.50 at tourist offices along the route. (For a website in English, see conservatoire-larzac.fr)

About 200km from the Causses, as the buzzard flies, the Heart of Gascony walk explores a very different kind of countryside: waves of gentle hills, woods and fields of sunflowers. Not that deeds of knightly derring-do are absent as this is Musketeers’ country. The city of Auch, which hosts a fine statue of D’Artagnan is also the start and end point for a circular ramble. At 165km long, it has been designed to be walked in six days, with stops at Castéra-Verduzan, Condom, La Romieu, Lectoure and Montestruc. The most striking buildings are the cathedral at La Romieu and the spectacular Château de Lavardens. This, like the previous circuit is suitable for mountain-biking and horse-riding (website: gers-rando.com; topo-guide D032, le Gers à Pied). To avoid having to book each night’s accommodation separately, it’s worth looking at the package created by the local tourist authorities. Beginning and ending at Castéra-Verduzan, it comprises six days’ walking and five nights’ half-board in two-star hotels and chambres d’hôte at prices from €350 per person.More details at gers-tourisme.com.

qq6

I prefer dramatic landscapes

Vast horizons and dramatic valleys characterize this seven day hike on two long distance footpaths: GR36 and GR46. The main focus is on the deep and sinuous Gorges of the Aveyron but impressive in a very different way are the stretches of the walk that cross the unique grassy causses. Along the way are ancient fortified towns (bastides), with tales to tell of the Hundred Years War. The best views of the gorges can be enjoyed on the stretch of the path between Najac and Monteils. The topo-guide to use is the GR 36-46 (Tour des Gorges de L’Aveyron; tourisme82.com).

How about some serious mountain walking?

Head for the National Park of the Pyrénées, where the car-park at Pont d’Espagne beyond the spa town of Cauterets is the starting point for a number of fine walks. The easiest one leads to turquoise Lac de Gaube and unrivalled views of the Vignemale Massif. More demanding and a lot less busy in summer is the two-and-a-half-hour trail up the lovely valley of Marcadau to the Refuge Wallon with the chance of spotting elegant izards, cousins of the chamois. For a walk which takes in several high lakes and great views of the (sadly, shrinking) Glacier d’Ossoue, take the road to the restaurant de la Fruitière rather than the Pont d’Espagne and follow the Vallée du Lutour up to the Col de Gentianes.

At the eastern end of the National Park is the Néouvielle Reserve. Among its rugged walks there is an easy two-hour ramble which links the gorgeous lakes of Aubert, Aumar and Oredon, set in high meadows. Start at the car park of the Refuge d’Oredon, beyond Saint-Lary-Soulan (website: tourisme-hautes-pyrenees.com).

What will I eat?

In the Gascony corner of the Midi-Pyrénées, a good meal will probably include pâté and a dish of preserved goose or duck, the best known of which is magret de canard. On the high plateau of Aubrac, a speciality to look out for is aligot (puréed potatoes, Laguiole tome cheese, garlic and cream), and you must try Roquefort in its local setting.

Toulouse’s favourite is that most substantial of substantial dishes, cassoulet, while in the mountains, there is a soup of vegetables and often ham, whose unappetising name, garbure, belies its flavour. Among the wines worth sampling are Madiran, Fronton, Gaillac, Cahors and Saint-Mont while the fiery brandy from the Gers – Armagnac will help your dinner go down.

qq7

SOMETHING FOR THE KIDS

So how do you enjoy a good walk with young children in tow? One way is to let the donkey take the strain, as well as provide entertaining distraction. There’s a week-long circuit starting at the beautiful village of Bruniquel, near Montauban, and continuing through the forest of Grésigne and then down the valley of the river Vère. Overnights are at chambres d’hôte which will look after you and your donkey (contact Loisirs Accueil Tarn-et-Garonne on 00 33 5 63 21 79 61).

Alternatively, you can meander through the valleys of the rivers Lot and Célé in the regional Park of the Causses du Quercy. The nearest city is Cahors. More details from Loisirs Accueil Lot (00 33 5 65 53 20 90; reservation-lot.com). They can also advise you on the option of hiring a horse-drawn caravan for a trip across the Causse of Gramat.

A rather different challenge is to provide children with the right degree of energy-absorbing activity. The sport of Accrobranches involves platforms and ladders and zipwires that take the youngsters (and parents) whizzing through the branches on harnesses. (‘Go Ape’ offers the same experience in the UK.) Try this at Montech, near Montauban (00 33 5 63 64 08 08; agrip-aventure.com); at Pavie, just south of Auch (le Vert en l’Air; 00 33 5 62 05 26 78) and just outside Cahors (Loisirs Accueil Lot: 00 33 5 65 53 20 90).

Fun for all the family is a 21st-century variation on the old theme of the treasure hunt, called Géocache. You roam the countryside, moving from one clue to the next, using a GPS. Géocache can be sampled in the village of Aguessac, about 10km north of Millau. It’s run by the Maison des Accompagnateurs (00 33 5 65 61 24 33; maison-des-accompagnateurs.fr)

in The Independent